Catch your first glimpse of Xbox Series X gameplay next week

0
216

Hot on the heels of the Assassin’s Creed Valhalla reveal, we’ll get to see it in action on the Xbox Series X next week.

The Assassin’s Creed Valhalla reveal was a strange thing, wasn’t it? Following a very slow teaser – in which artist Bosslogic unveiled the game’s Nordic setting via the medium of digital painting – we’ve today been “treated” to a 15-minute long cinematic trailer.

(Expect to see more of these weird reveals as publishers reshuffle their presentation deck from what would’ve been E3 week in June.)

It’s very big and it’s very impressive – and it’s been duly noted that all the cinematics were captured in-engine, fair play – but do you know what people really want to see, Ubisoft? Gameplay.

Luckily, uncle Phil Spencer over at Xbox is here to help. Next week, Inside Xbox will be hosting a stream featuring Xbox Series X gameplay footage from a number of “global developers partners” [sic] which will include Assassin’s Creed Valhalla gameplay, as confirmed by Ubisoft Nordic, one of 15 studios working on Valhalla.

In addition to Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, expect to see other games. Which ones, we wonder? Given Ubisoft’s participation, we might also see Watch Dogs Legion, Gods and Monsters, or Rainbow Six Quarantine. Square Enix’s Outriders is a definite possibility, and on the first-party front, we might see Hellblade 2, Everwild, and of course, Halo Infinite.

Microsoft is always keen to remind us of the backwards compatibility capability of the Xbox Series X, so perhaps we’ll see some cross-generational titles, like those Ubisoft games listed above, and maybe even Cyberpunk 2077.

Either way, we’ll see you on May 7th at 4 pm BST (11 am Eastern, 8 am Pacific) for the Xbox Series X gameplay reveal. Exciting stuff.


You should follow Thumbsticks on FacebookGoogle NewsTwitter, and Flipboard for the biggest gaming news.

Recommended for you